Ashville Excursions

Zen Tubing

The French Broad River flows through North Carolina and Tennessee, draining large portions of Pisgah and Cherokee National Forests. On a hot summer day, it’s typically packed with people enjoying the water.

At the start of summer, my friends and I took a tubing trip through Zen Tubing to float down the river. It was a LONG afternoon in the sun, but definitely enjoyable. The $20 cost was a bit expensive considering it only included the raft, but it was still an afternoon well spent. If you’re not from the area, and don’t know where you’re going, a rental might be the best way to go. However, if you are slightly familiar with the river or live in the area, you’re far better off buying a raft for around $15 and just jumping in wherever you choose along the water. To stay connected with my friends, we roped our rafts together. You could also bring a raft to carry a cooler with all your snacks and drinks, just be sure to also bring sunscreen!

IMG_5318

Zen Tubing on the French Broad

Downtown After 5

On the third Friday of each month, May to September, from 5-9pm, Asheville celebrates food and music with Downtown After 5. After of day of activities, head downtown to check out some live music on a stage set up in the street. There are also a bunch of food trucks and places to get a drink set up around the area. If you want to enjoy dinner too, get there early to eat at a restaurant overlooking the scene, or just head somewhere downtown whenever you’re ready!

IMG_5471.JPG

Enjoying Downtown After 5

FullSizeRender.jpg

Stage area of festival

Old Fort Rodeo

One new experience I had this summer was going to a rodeo! Although I grew up around country and farm life, I have never experienced the Southern rodeo.
Although they are hosted all throughout the week, my friends and I went to the nearby town of Old Fort one Friday evening, and definitely had an experience. There was a variety of events including bareback bronc riding, team roping, tie-down roping, barrel racing, and bull riding. This event was smaller with a little more of a local/hometown feel, not as large as I was expecting. I think it’s safe to say I’m glad I went once, and don’t particularly need to go again, but life is all about having new experiences! However, It was a fantastic bonding opportunity for my friends and I, and if it’s your kind of thing, I highly recommend checking it out!

IMG_5503.JPG

IMG_5500.JPG

Friends and I at the Rodeo

Leave a Reply

